An update, and YES Windows 7 RC can install on a Macbook Pro without bootcamp

Howdy all!
 
I’ve been super busy, travelling, doing health stuff, going to TechEd, SharePoint Saturday, London, and more.  However, since I have a bit of time free, I thought I’d catch up with some stuff I’ve been wanting to do with Windows 7 (and server).
 
I have a blog entry set up (just need to go over it) for sysprepping server 2008 R2/windows 7 for labs using DSIM, but before I do that, I had to post something:  I was messing around this morning, and I have a spare Macbook pro, so I decided to install Windows 7 on it.  Straight up, no bootcamp.
 
And it worked.  So yes, you can install Windows 7 on a Macintosh computer (one that uses an intel processor of course).  Meaning, among other things, that Windows 7 and Server 2008 R2, support EFI booting.
 
More details and screenshots later.
 
Just thought you should know.

About cacallahan

Old skool server grrl. Written about server 2003, 2003 R2, etc. Did Windows Server presentations at conferences like Windows Connections, worked as a presenter for the TechNet Briefings security tour in 2004, contributed to books like Mastering Windows 2003 and Windows Vista, The Missing Manual. Got sucked into the SharePoint craze back in 2006, and have not been able to escape. Wrote "Mastering Windows SharePoint Services 3.0" and the followup "Mastering Microsoft SharePoint Foundation 2010." Currently wandering around the world, speaking at user groups, SharePoint Saturdays, and various conferences about SharePoint Foundation administration...
This entry was posted in Windows 7. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment